KI logo

Greater Lansing Chevra Kadisha
Timeline for Jewish Traditions
in Death and Mourning

Return to the main Chevra Kadisha page.

When a death is anticipated:

Aninut—the period of time between the moment of death and the end of the funeral:

Shiva—the seven-day period following the funeral:

Shloshim—the 30-day period of less intense mourning:

Shanah—a year's time:

Chevra Kadisha

Contents copyright © 2004, 2018 Kehillat Israel